Converted Try

IMG_1765

Start of my next drawing, I don’t normally like to draw sports people in a stationery position, however I liked the moment of anticipation in this shot. At this stage I have crudely laid down the main shade areas. It’s probably the most tricky part because before I put any charcoal on the paper I have to carefully measure how the figure is placed. Working out the middle point and the total width, ensuring it will fit on the paper and then how each part relates to each other. The hardest part is where to begin. I don’t like to start with the head because otherwise I get wrapped up in the portrait detail so I like to start with the darkest shadow.

Leave a Reply

