Charcoal portrait

portrait practiceIt’s good to keep practising portraits, probably the most difficult genre of art.  I am highly critical of my portrait drawing, it is getting alot better but is still not quite where I want it to be.  Its probably about 80% there. This is completed in charcoal, my use and manipulation of charcoal is a lot better and more than competent in terms of managing to get it to do what I want.  The area that needs more work and practice is getting the proportions spot on.  Although this painterly style is my preferred style and it means that the subject is not drawn in complete detail, it is still important that the bits I do in detail are perfect and I’m still a bit sloppy there.

2 thoughts on “Charcoal portrait

  1. Kay @KittyCat_Smile

    Hi!
    I am simply amazed at the quality of your work! It is superb! You should have a million gazillion likes, but I think I know why… I didn’t see the like button until I logged on my laptop… perhaps on the tablet its a bit trickier. Again, so wonderfully talented work! 🙂 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

