Portrait Practice – charcoal portrait drawing

Portrait Practice-001

Portrait Practice-002

Now that my Christmas commissions are complete I’m taking the opportunity to do some portrait practice.  My ambition has always been to draw portraits in life but I have not managed to get enough practice in for they to come natural yet and I’m far too slow.  This probably took me 2 hours in total and people won’t sit for that long at fairs etc.  I used my newly bought charcoal powder to place the features first before darkening them – it is so easy to erase if you’re not happy with it.  It’s almost there although I would say there was elements of the drawing that I could not control, the charcoal had got too dark to erase, the eyes are slightly too big which distorts the rest of the portrait features.  Drawing pet portraits allows you to make the eyes slightly bigger than normal to create the correct expression but human portraits I realise are different.

Leave a Reply

