Snow Spaniel – original pastel dog portrait drawing

Snow Spaniel

IMG_2647

Snow spaniel is now complete along with a collage of the progress.  I really like showing a collage of progress and I like looking at other people’s progress in their art.  We all tackle our art differently and although such a progress collage looks very controlled and efficient it does not really show all the decisions and thought processes.  There were many times for example in this drawing where I felt things were not going well and contemplated ripping it up and ditching it.  I am sure other artists must feel the same.  Luckily the more I draw and practise the easier it gets to change things that I don’t like.  It’s not often that I have scrapped a drawing completely.  This one managed to achieve in the end exactly what I wanted.  The soft thoughtful look of a spaniel looking so normal despite having snow all over his head.  I love it.

Leave a Reply

