Black Labrador – progress drawing in graphite

 

pencil and graphite progress drawing of a black labrador by Alsager pet artist

Alfie

This is part way through my latest commission, a black labrador called Alfie.  I began work on this during my ArtFest art fair which certainly raised some interest.  Visitors to the fair loved watching the artists who were brave enough to work with an audience.  Personally I don’t mind people watching me at all, with frequent visitors to my studio I have become used to it.  My only problem is that I tend to chat whilst doing my work and progress slows right down.  However, I’ve worked all day on Alfie to make good progress.  It’s taking a while to get the fur just right and it will need to be darkened even more.

Here is a little timelapse video of me working on his nose 

Leave a Reply

