That Westie Look – original charcoal dog drawing

This was set as a practise piece.  It has been well received so I have made it available for sale on Daily Paintworks you can see it here I used this piece to help to practise drawing long fur.  Long fur is completely different from short hair – or so I thought.  It is actually exactly the same.  I initially tried to draw each clump of fur but that resulted in lots of bare patches which did not look right.  So I restarted and ending up treating it like everything else I draw, I looked for the darkest tones and worked through to the lightest.  I then added fur detail at the end.  Much better and a good exercise.

charcoal and white pastel drawing of a westie head and shoulders with black eyes by pet artist

That Westie Look

 

Leave a Reply

