Cricket Art in charcoal & Open studios

I always feel better when I start a new cricket drawing, not sure why. I think it just feels comfortable and easy going.  This week I am drawing the wonderfully quirky image of the Pakistan Captain – Misbah Ul Haq doing his famous push up warm up before going in to bat.  His partner Shafiq walks past with a grin on his face.  It’s a great image.  Here’s some progress drawings where I am making scratchy marks for the shadow areas and the proportions..

IMG_1166

Adding the shadow areas and checking that the proportions are correct.

IMG_1197

The exhibition is carrying on at Bickerton, nice to see another red dot on one of my drawings and to see that my piece Owl Babies now has a new home.



This week I’ve been working on putting my limited edition prints onto canvas.  Its been a learning curve as I have never stretched canvas before.  I am able to print out on my printer for a canvas for 15 x 10 inch sizes but for bigger I would need to out source them.

Here’s the first one of ‘That Taylor Catch’ – I am really pleased with it, the colours are just as sharp as the prints on paper.  They can be bought like this or bought in a frame (more details of the framed pieces to follow)

canvas limited edition print of james taylor taking a catch at short leg

That Taylor Catch Canvas


On the 7th August I will taking part in an Art Fayre at the Lion Salt Works in Northwich.  A full day when I will have cricket drawings, prints, mugs and cards as well as my animal drawings and prints.  I went on a little visit to check out the venue.  It’s very smart, with a cafe and if you’re interested in the history of the place there’s a great museum.

IMG_1185

art fair at lion salt works northwich cheshire

Sales this week are:

The original of ‘That Taylor Catch’ is on its way to somewhere special as well as a print.

Leave a Reply

