That Pug Look – original pug pencil drawing & other notes from the studio

After promising to give myself the day off on Monday following my art fair I ended up working to complete a pencil pug drawing that I started at the fair.  It’s great to draw when you’re at an art fair, customers love to see you working and talk about techniques.

IMG_1244

Here’s a sneaky photo that I took at the fair, I loved it and hope to paint it one day..


So ‘That Pug Look’ was completed on Wednesday, he is only 6 x 6″ wide and framed in a 7×7″ frame.  If you’re interested in purchasing him or viewing my other artwork and commissions click here to follow the link to my website or click on the finished drawing of That Pug Look.

 

framed pencil graphite drawing of a pug dog by cheshire based pet artist

That Pug Look


Before I get on with my next commission I am carrying on with trialling oil painting.  This time I have chosen a composition that I feel I can work with better.  Being a shorter haired dog , a dalmatian means I can focus on the tones rather than the fine fur detail.  The photo is by kind permission of someone from Dalmatians UK facebook page.

IMG_2971

The pose is perfect and the light is being cast from above to the right.  The only tricky thing is the constant whites.

Leave a Reply

