Misbah’s sweep – original Pakistan cricket drawing

Took a break on bank holiday Monday to go to a proper cricket match.  Visiting Edgbaston for the first time we watched Warwickshire beat Somerset in the Royal London semi-final by only 10 runs so it was pretty close / tense.

IMG_1373

It was great to watch Jonathan Trott again, haven’t seen him play for a while.  I’ve been listening to county cricket commentary on my radio most of the summer so I know alot of names but not how they play.


My piece this week is a commission.  Misbah Ul Haq performing his excellent reverse sweep shot.  His class shot that he’s performed the world over.  Here is the progress shots of the drawing as I work in my customary manner of building up the shade.

 

 I also prepared a timelapse video of my drawing Misbah’s face.  Unfortunately it did not record so I prepared another one drawing a different section…..

 

It’s a little bit wobbly but you get the general idea…..

Here is the finished piece, the original is sold but I have made 50 limited edition prints available.  You can visit my website shop here or click on the image below to follow the link for prints.

misbah, misbah ul haq, pakistan cricket drawing, cricket art, cricket art, cricket artist,

Misbah’s Sweep


On Friday mornings I am going to be drawing portraits from life.  Something that I have wanted to try for a while.  I will be in Two Doors Studio (Alsager) in their cafe to draw willing victims.  Currently I can’t charge for this service as I am only practising, it is going to take a while to made the adaption from photographs to drawing from life.  Hopefully this is something that I can eventually offer as a service.  Here is photo of me concentrating very hard…

IMG_1395

Although I have being working on the Misbah commission, my portrait drawing ‘The Glance’ was sold (very quickly) and much to my delight.  I will make prints available of this drawing and let you know when they are ready….

pastel portrait drawing of a young woman glancing and looking into the distance

The Glance

Leave a Reply

